A forgotten memory from Salamanca

Scrolling through my photos earlier today, I came across some pictures from Salamanca that had gotten lost in the clutter. Here they are with the accompanying story…

 

As a group we visited the Huerto de Calixto y Melibea, a garden in the historic section of Salamanca named after two lovers from Fernando de Rojas 15th century work, “La Celestina.”

We had only spent a few minutes there during our tour, so with some free time I walked around the city, seeking out the garden. By circling Salamanca’s famed old cathedral, and with the help of a trail of hearts, I found my way there once again.

Trail of hearts

As it turns out a newlywed couple was taking photos in the garden after tying the knot in a nearby church. Their procession to the Huerto de Calixto y Melibea had left a wake of love, guiding the way for others to find Salamanca’s romantic epicenter.

Inside the garden, I found a letter left on a stone bench.

In English, it reads:

Good morning love!

I love you, thank you for this trip, I’m always happy with you.

-Ana

Because it was written in Spanish I didn’t know what it read until I translated it later back at my homestay, but feeling slightly home sick, the imagined message was a nice pick-me-up. So I left one of my own for the next wanderer to find.

photo2

 

1 Comment

Filed under Spanish Culture

One response to “A forgotten memory from Salamanca

  1. Akriti

    LOVED YOUR POST.
    NICE WORK 🙂

Leave a comment